TelOne Changes Area Codes and Telephone Numbers Countrywide

TelOne Changes Area Codes and Telephone Numbers Countrywide

Harare 5 June, 2018

As the implementation of the $98million National Broadband Project nears completion at 95% now, TelOne is changing all the area codes and modifying telephone numbers countrywide.

The area codes have been reduced from 96 to just 20 in line with the International Telecommunication Union regulations. The 20 area codes means that some areas that previously had their own area codes are now sharing the same area code. For example, Ruwa whose area code was 0273, Norton 062, Arcturus 0274, Beatrice 065 and Chitungwiza 0270 are all now sharing the same area code with Harare which is 024.

Furthermore, all telephone numbers have also been modified and have different prefixes that have been added to the old numbers.

The National Broadband Project has modernized the TelOne exchanges and part of the network bringing with it a convergence of services. The network convergence means that clients can now enjoy a variety of services on the new platform. It means clients now need a single account to enjoy both their broadband and voice as well as wifi away from home. On this same platform, clients can also now enjoy internet TV, toll free service, pre-paid voice as well as video and tele-conferencing.

The NBB project has also seen the implementation of the Harare-Beitbridge and Bulawayo-Beitbridge Backbone Fibre which has resulted in about 30% cut in internet bandwidth landing costs which has been passed on to our clients who are now enjoying more from their packages.


Issued by

TelOne Corporate Communications